The Student Room Group

Driving car once a week bad?

I'm new to driving and due to working in the city it would be too much of a hassle to drive to work.
For that reason i can only drive my car every weekend, from my research this will be bad in the long term and will shorten the life of the oil and car battery. I live in London so having a car isn't imperative but i wanted one to keep my driving skills healthy and of course to have it on stand by if its ever needed but i'm concerned its lack of use will ironically cost me more than if i drove it everyday.

It's only a 1.2 petrol if that makes a difference so it does get up to operating temperature fairly quickly.
Dunno, do you enjoy driving? Nothing stopping you going out for spin when it's quieter during the week.

I passed right before last winter, so weather and conditions sucked and i didn't have any places i HAD to drive to so the car just kind of sat there, but I found it started draining my confidence really quickly and I had to throw myself back into it and find reasons to go driving.
I do enjoy driving (non rush hour times) just that after working 9 - 5 i have no time to take it for a spin in the week and am too tired. So i can only do saturday and sundays but i've read that lack of use is very unhealthy for the car and components will turn rusty.
Original post by chosenone93
I'm new to driving and due to working in the city it would be too much of a hassle to drive to work.
For that reason i can only drive my car every weekend, from my research this will be bad in the long term and will shorten the life of the oil and car battery. I live in London so having a car isn't imperative but i wanted one to keep my driving skills healthy and of course to have it on stand by if its ever needed but i'm concerned its lack of use will ironically cost me more than if i drove it everyday.

It's only a 1.2 petrol if that makes a difference so it does get up to operating temperature fairly quickly.