The Student Room Group

Taking long to learn forcing

So I’ve been learning to drive since October now ( about 8 months) and I’m not very good at it, when I first started I was only doing lessons with my instructor one a week 2 hours lessons and I could barely drive then, in March I got a car and I have significantly improved but I’m still not great, I also started 1 lesson every 2 weeks due to affordability as I’m now paying for my car too. I’ve had over 40 hours with my instructor btw and also many hours of home practice too. I feel like it’s taking way too long to learn to drive I’m very bad at roundabouts and I freak out a lot and stalk so much I also drove on the curb today when turning the corner which knocked down my confidence a lot and I’ve only been on a dual carriageway once (which was with my instructor) he also hasn’t taught me reverse parking/normal parking or reverse round the corner or parallel parking but I learnt this at home. Before getting my car and started learning with my dad I could barely even drive tbh I figured out my instructor basically only teaches me how to drive in a straight line and it’s too late to change instructors now as my test is in august and I need to be able to drive for my uni course, is this normal to take this long? Does anyone have any tips bc I just feel like I’m dumb tbh bc so many of my class mates already know how to drive and I just get scared and can’t do anything (edit: I meant to say “driving” in my title not forcing lmao)
(edited 10 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by fareeda234