The Student Room Group

How many places can you volunteer at once

I'm a Y12 student at my school's 6th form, which obviously limits my time to evenings and weekends. Im doing 4 A Levels - Bio, chem ,maths, comp. (got AABA in last mocks, no maths exams in summer)

I don't have a job yet, I'm gonna lighten my volunteering load once I've gained enough experience.

How many hours do places usually require as a minimum? Therefore would 5 places be okay?

O A pharmacy that I live down the road from

O 2 medical centres - one's 5 minutes away from school, and my actual doctors. The other is about 10 mins away from sch)

O A care home across the street from school

O Local hospital, under half an hour by bus
You would have to ask the places what their requirements are with regards to minimum hours are.
Some may have a minimum number of hours, some may not.
And as long as the places you volunteer at don't have a policy about not volunteering elsewhere while you are there, then you can volunteer at as many places as you want.
Oh damn, that policy is a thing? Do a lot of places have that?
Also what's like a normal number of min hours??
Original post by Emma:-)
You would have to ask the places what their requirements are with regards to minimum hours are.
Some may have a minimum number of hours, some may not.
And as long as the places you volunteer at don't have a policy about not volunteering elsewhere while you are there, then you can volunteer at as many places as you want.
Original post by amphibology
Oh damn, that policy is a thing? Do a lot of places have that?
Also what's like a normal number of min hours??

Its mainly employers that have that sort of policy, that while working for them you cant also have another job elsewhere.
I dont think its very common for places to have that sort of things for volunteers, they usually are glad to have any volunteers- as long as you meet any requirements, but its always worth a check.