The Student Room Group

I’m 27 and I’m still doing a low skilled labouring job on minimum wage

I left college at 19 with only a level 2 in dry lining and interiors in construction. However 8 years later I’m stuck in a dead end job that I have been doing for 6 years on minimum wage. I’ve only been doing the job because my in law is a director. Is it too late to go back into education and perhaps into university?
Original post by Matty2993
I left college at 19 with only a level 2 in dry lining and interiors in construction. However 8 years later I’m stuck in a dead end job that I have been doing for 6 years on minimum wage. I’ve only been doing the job because my in law is a director. Is it too late to go back into education and perhaps into university?

It’s never too late to go back to education. Follow your mind, and do what it takes with preserverance and determination. Uni life is what you make of it.

Take the plunge and go for it. For a better you and for a better future.

Tell them you want a better role!

Also it’s never too late
(edited 3 years ago)
Depends..

I’m 30 right now and trying to compete for graduate positions with people in their early 20s might be challenging.

I changed from my low paid customer service job at the age of 25 without uni.

What is it you want to do? I think that will very much depend on how you go about changing your job prospects.. for what I wanted to do (IT) I didn’t need to go to university.
Reply 4
It's never too late! I did my A-Level equivalents at home at 31 (Access to HE) and started University at 32. Here I am, two years later. It'll be all over next year and I have a job waiting for me after that I could have only landed in my wildest dreams.

Yes, it's been a journey and one which has very tough at times. You can tell yourself "But, it's going to take X years", but time still passes by. If in X years you reach that point and have done nothing, you'll kick yourself for not starting earlier.

It's never too late mate.