The Student Room Group

Second year student nurse

Sigh.... So currently I’m on my final placement for my second year adult nursing course. I have 3 weeks left in this placement and tbh I don’t feel like I’m competent or ready to go to year 3. The skills and clinical knowledge you need in year 3 is something I don’t have. I feel like a complete novice, like as if I’m in year1 . I’m dreading going to placement next year and not knowing who to do or how to do it because I don’t have the expertise or experience.Covid has completely messed my year 2 experience because my first placement was going well , but in March when I had my second placement scheduled , it was cancelled due to Covid , as some hospitals weren’t taking in students. So I’ve literally jumped from the start of the year to now the end , and that makes it very stressful and challenging because I don’t feel like I’ve met any skills and standards . Idk what to do , so I would highly appreciate if I could get some advice or help.

Thanks.
Reply 1
its normal to feel that way. obviously covid has made it work. year 3 is when it clicks.
Reply 2
Original post by Mariya112