The Student Room Group

Change University

I am currently studying a media and communication foundation in Sheffield Hallam, but I am thinking of moving to another university to start my freshman year. I could not enter the other universities not because of my bachiller grade (which is the validation of the UK A Leves), but because of my level of English, I was going to take my B2 exam in Cambridge in June, but with the covid it was impossible. I wanted to know if I can access another university where I meet all the requirements without "making a transfer", basically I want to start from scratch, I do not need my foundation's grade to access. The only thing that worries me is the change of home fees, because I would start my course in 2021 and I am European, although I have Pre Settled Status.
Have you heard of the open university?

You can work and study part time for a degree?

There are so many courses and it’s very independent. Cheaper and it’s all
Done virtually. Before covid there were some optional days schools!

I would contact their student support service team to get more clarity! They will help guide you and give you the support to embark on a good degree that fits well with your requirements.
You need to email some other Universities, giving them exact details of what qualifications you have and explain that the Foundation year hasn't worked out for you are can you apply to their Uni (Foundation course or Year 1). They are the only ones who can tell you if this is possible of not.

PS. Open University is funded as part of UK provision therefore "students who are EU nationals and start studying with the OU from 1 August 2021 will not be eligible for funding such as tuition fee loans" and you may have to pay full overseas fees.
Original post by McGinger