The Student Room Group

Do you put your camera on in online lessons?

Poll

If you don't put your camera on in online lessons, why is that?

With most people doing online lessons at the moment, I wondered whether you put your camera on for lessons? Is it optional? Do your teachers have rules about cameras?

If you don't put your camera on, why is that?

Do you find it makes a difference whether you/other students have their cameras on?

Scroll to see replies

I don't put it on because:
1. I am not allowed
2. I feel self-conscious showing my face
3. I hate video calling anyway (I hate taking on the phone or through video in general)
4. Invasion of privacy
Because no one else does and because I just feel really awkward. I do feel bad for the teachers though because it is as if they are just talking to themselves as everyone is too scared to speak too. Some classes we have our cameras on if we like the teacher enough
:hide: :no:
- we were told not to bc of bandwidth
- my background is too messy
- it generally makes me anxious anyway
bc im behind with content and struggling that i dont know wth goes on during tutorials and i dont wanna be picked on.
im at uni btw
I do sometimes, but I am always the only person. I usually just set a funny background or something because my room is a bombsite right now.
Original post by V℮rsions
I do sometimes, but I am always the only person. I usually just set a funny background or something because my room is a bombsite right now.

exactly - i do it when i feel bad for the teacher cos they are literally staring at a silent black screen
Reply 7
Nope..

Spoiler

Original post by Imane888
I don't put it on because:
1. I am not allowed
2. I feel self-conscious showing my face
3. I hate video calling anyway (I hate taking on the phone or through video in general)
4. Invasion of privacy