The Student Room Group

Placement year for MSc Students

I'm an international student who got an offer for Msc Data Science and Statistics with a placement year at the University of Bath. I'm wondering if there is any point in doing placement year as I heard it pays lesser and you have to find the placement. So couldn't i just find a job and get paid normally instead of a placement? What do you guys think about Masters placement year.
Reply 1
I'm an international student who got an offer for Msc Data Science and Statistics with a placement year at the University of Bath. I'm wondering if there is any point in doing placement year as I heard it pays lesser and you have to find the placement. So couldn't i just find a job and get paid normally instead of a placement? What do you guys think about Masters placement year.
Original post by Ganj0

Hi! @Ganj0

The placement year might be part of your course, which is why it is important to speak to someone about this. I would speak to your university and course leader about this. If it is a choice then choose what you feel is best for you and what you would enjoy more, but your university should be able to help you with this.

I hope this helps!
Chloe - Official Student Rep :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by kanupriya63
hey.. if you have to look for a placement yourself then i dont feel opting for a placement year would be really helpful.
btw, i am also an international student applying for Msc Data Science..
which other clgs did you apply to ??