The Student Room Group

can minecraft damage ur laptop??

I have a brand new 8GB RAM (also space for another 8gb stick) laptop rn (with 256GB storage) and have just redownloaded minecraft from the microsoft store.

Is it possible that minecraft can damage/ clog up ur computer with the processing needed and space it takes up?

sorry if this is a stupid q, but after i started playing it (from an sd card) on my old lenovo laptop i noticed the laptop started to function slower and eventually packed up completely, just showing a black screen after log in. (tbf i hadn't updated it in abt a year due to lack of space as well)

Also any tips to mitigate potential damage to laptop from playing minecraft (windows 10/ bedrock edition) in it?
Thanks! (:
(edited 2 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

No, Minecraft won't damage your computer unless it was already on its very last legs. Don't worry about it.
Original post by anosmianAcrimony
No, Minecraft won't damage your computer unless it was already on its very last legs. Don't worry about it.

thanks I think I'm being over cautious but I'm trying to look after this computer better than my last laptop...
No, laptops are meant to be used.
Original post by anosmianAcrimony

also do u think the black screen issue could be caused by my RAM stick like breaking? Cos my old laptop only had 1 8g stick and maybe that would explain why i get the wheel of death when i try to use the run menu from the black screen. Not rly sure tho
Original post by IrrelevantName03
No, laptops are meant to be used.

tru tru but some games only work well on these chonky gaming computers which my laptop is not lol
Unless your cpu/gpu is a potato it won't harm your laptop. Make sure you turn the fans up to prevent overheating.

Original post by cantnorithesuhi