The Student Room Group

can I use clearing even if I am a uni student

so basically, I'm feeling a bit wobbly about my course. I'm not sure if it's for me or it's a fleeting feeling, but I'd still like to be as informed as possible. Basically, if I wanted to change courses at the end of the year would I still be able to go through clearing even though I'm already a uni student?
Yes you can, but remember that Clearing is usually only for the courses/subjects that no-one else wants - ie lower Unis or obscure subjects.

You will have far more choice if you make a conventional application before the Jan deadline - and you will have time to actually visit those places before you have to accept an offer - there wont be time for that in August.
Also to add that they'll be lots of courses available even after Jan 26th but before Clearing. Clearing will be a bit manic and it will be difficult to assess whether you are 'trading up'.
Anyone with a ucas application and no place can use clearing.
So as everyone says above - if you want to use clearing then apply now.
Reply 4
Original post by McGinger
Yes you can, but remember that Clearing is usually only for the courses/subjects that no-one else wants - ie lower Unis or obscure subjects.

You will have far more choice if you make a conventional application before the Jan deadline - and you will have time to actually visit those places before you have to accept an offer - there wont be time for that in August.

That’s was my thought process but I’m still not sure that’s what I want and I don’t want to make permanent changes on a feeling that might be temporary. If there was a way I could apply though UCAS, but still hold my current place in uni I would but I don’t think that’s possible?
Original post by 3lys3o