The Student Room Group

Loans for students

Anyone know of a good low APR loan for students? I have already already tried lendwise and financial freedom(whatever it’s called). I am being rejected by banks because I am a student. Thank you
Double post oops
(edited 1 year ago)
Apologies I thought I’d replied.

Most likely? 0? To be blunt being a student you have no income bar loans/grants and this isn’t enough to satisfy most decent lenders that you can repay it.

Do you have a part time job? I’d not and you need financial help this is the avenue to go down. Also speak to your students union as most university’s have a hardship fund for people struggling

And if you’ve already applied for 1-2 that’s 1-2 hard searches on your credit file so I wouldn’t apply for anymore for a good while, it’ll make you look desperate on your file for credit which will put off lenders.

The only lenders that will probably give you a ‘loan’ will charge high APR knowing full well you won’t be able to pay it back and I’d stay well clear personally
Reply 3
Unfortunately, the options are bleak as pointed out you will struggle with a loan as you can't repay it unless you have at least part time income.

As i see it the only options are:-

1. Bank of mum and Dad if possible, this is your best call.
2. Some sort of Guarantor loan if you can get one with support from 1 above
https://www.lendingexpert.co.uk/guarantor-loans/
3. A student bank account like Santander 123 that will allow you to go 2k overdraft, £1500 in first year
https://www.finder.com/uk/better-student-bank-accounts?

Problem with bank account overdrafts is you are always playing catch up, better to avoid if you can. what i have seen though is that when you do finally start full time work, i have known of loads of cases when the bank will convert the money overdrawn to a loan at that point. Doesn't help you now though whilst studying

Good luck
Original post by Unknown786101