The Student Room Group

Glasgow or Aberdeen? What are your thoughts?

Hey guys, I have offers from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Strathclyde University for Business.

I’m an international student so I don’t know those universities or areas and although i’ve visited them I don’t know them like you guys do living and studying there

Let me know what your experiences have been like at the universities and in these areas!
Glasgow! Aberdeen is a top uni but the city is far from anywhere else. In contrast, Glasgow is also a top uni - considered an 'Ancient' since it was one of the first unis in the UK. Glasgow city is a lovely vibrant city with a great student life. Strathclyde uni is also based in Glasgow city and is a top uni but is smaller than Glasgow uni.

Go to one of the Glasgow-based unis.
Original post by kyraxrae
Hey guys, I have offers from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Strathclyde University for Business.

I’m an international student so I don’t know those universities or areas and although i’ve visited them I don’t know them like you guys do living and studying there

Let me know what your experiences have been like at the universities and in these areas!

Hello @kyraxrae,
Congratulations on receiving offers to study in Scotland! There are a few things that might be helpful to consider.

City Life
Aberdeen is more isolated and a smaller city in comparison to Glasgow. Glasgow is a big and vibrant city with lots to offer both culturally and socially. Glasgow also has better transport links, having both an airport and being an hour or so away from Edinburgh. Strathclyde is a city campus right in the heart of the Glasgow and everything is on your doorstep.

Course
Have a look again at the course structure and see if there is one you prefer. You will be studying it for quite a few years so it is important you enjoy it.
Strathclyde have a dedicated business school building and does have a strong international student cohort.

Uni Life