The Student Room Group
Students on campus at Loughborough University
Loughborough University
Loughborough

university support for those suffering from mental health issues

I am a mature student looking to apply to loughborough for a sports related course. I suffer from chronic depression. I will be an international student. What is the university ecosystem like for someone like me? what avenues for support would I be able to avail while at uni?
Original post by Anonymous
I am a mature student looking to apply to loughborough for a sports related course. I suffer from chronic depression. I will be an international student. What is the university ecosystem like for someone like me? what avenues for support would I be able to avail while at uni?

Hi there,

It is great to hear that you're interested in studying at Loughborough.

I would take more of a look at some links on our website, such as our Student Services webpage. Student Services support students in having a positive university experience. You can also contact them here.

We also have specific international student support and I wanted to link you to this as well.

Furthermore, we have a page on various services that can support mental wellbeing.

If you have any questions and want to know more about our services, I would contact our International Office (the details are at the bottom of this page here) and they can support you with more detailed information. However, I hope this helps.

Please do get in touch if you have any further questions.

- Lindsay
Students on campus at Loughborough University
Loughborough University
Loughborough
Thank you for your response. Will I be able to avail of counselling/therapy services at the uni if needed?
Original post by Anonymous
Thank you for your response. Will I be able to avail of counselling/therapy services at the uni if needed?

Hi there,

I've been speaking to Student Services so I can help you.