The Student Room Group

Would I be able to do this?

Hi,

I'm currently a Year 11 GCSE Student hoping to take all A Level's in Sciences (still deciding what else to choose)

I'm wishing to peruse a career in Science when I leave school, but as I'm resitting Maths in November other students has said that'll be a bad look for university

There is a A Level for Further Mathematics but I won't meet the requirements for that as of now, so I was wondering would I be able to take Further Mathematics at my college whilst doing my A Levels at the same time?

To neutralise me re-sitting?
Reply 1
Hi.

When I was in year 11, I failed maths. As pathetic as it sounds, I actually retook maths 4 times as i kept failing. I finally got a 4 in maths. When i applied for University of leeds (a russell group) the grade requirments stated that for GCSE I should have grade 6 maths . They still let me in and had absolutely no trouble whatsover and no hard time in the course.

I dont think universities can see how many times you re took it tbh or really care, at the end of the day GCSE is just a level of qualification, really doesnt matter if you took it 10 times because you still passed in the end.

I dont know about sitting the further mathematics. My school wouldnt have allowed it if you havent passed maths. But I would also keep in consideration that you may not pass in November, and the next time you could then try to sit it is in the summer, and then it my be to late to take maths as an a level.

Also, if your school and sixth form are in two different places, i would definitely ask if the sixth form do resit maths (just to save u travel time)

Hope i understood your question correctly
Reply 2