The Student Room Group

Grading international vs non-international

Hi,

I'm a non-international university student and most of my friends are international. Whenever we submit coursework assessments they always seem to get higher than me, even though their work is substantially less sophisticated than mine. This is not a subjective opinion but an objective one (You would know if you read their work).

Nonetheless, they always get higher than me and I find it so unfair. I feel as if my university has a preconceived bias to make sure to give international students better grades?

I know a lot of UK universities favour international students when giving them a space in university, even if their grades do not meet the requirements, but has anyone else noticed this with grading?

It could just be that they get nicer markers then I do but this specific coursework has made this theory of mine so much more compelling. There is no way this person should have got the grade that they did.

I don't mean to be rude and I hope it doesn't come across that way but it is really disheartening.
Highly unlikely,

Most assignments are assessed based on defined marking rubrics and its a case of identifying where submissions sit in relative to this. If it was consistently happening this also means it’s happening across the assessed opinion of many different academics. Additionally most assignments are marked blindly and they often have hundreds of exams or submissions to review.

Is it possible they are either raising their standards for their submissions, or your ability to to identify what to include and not include in assignments are not as strong as you think it is. Perhaps being more self-critical of your submissions would allow you to perform better.
Reply 2
Original post by mnot
Highly unlikely,