The Student Room Group

Can I retake my final year due to crippling mental health?

I’m an econ student @ Sussex and my university journey has slowly been going down hill. I finished 1st year with a 66% (this was covid times and I was living at home with my family so it was fairly easy for me to stay on track with my studies until I started commuting for the next 2 years from London). Fast forward to the summer before second year and my friend passed away towards the end. That really affected me heavily during the first term and my grades were awful but I didn’t raise this with any of the help services/did not claim for EC. because of this I missed about 4 assignments which really brought my average down. I tried to pick myself back up saying that I'd perform much better in the second semester since I still had time to change it around (and I did better!) but my 2nd year overall grade is 58% since it took a hit from the first semester. I’m about to finish my 3rd year now, - after results for the first term of 3rd year came out my mental health significantly declined as I got a lower grade than expected (49, which fine, happens sometimes, 2 high 2:1/1st grades for my other modules but for my 4th module I had a technical issue during the exam and couldn’t submit it. I got a 0 for that module since it was worth 100%. My mental health was strongly associated with my grades, and before I would remind myself that I still had time to improve significantly which is what would get me through. But at this point I thought there was no hope for me achieving a 2:1 which is what I really want to end university with. My parents are very specific about me achieving a first; it means a lot to them without question and it has added to the pressure so much that I’ve snapped and sought help from my doctor for the first time ever (see I come from a family where mental health isn’t talked about/encouraged as it should be) he put me on sertraline which has only destroyed my sleep. I’m in