The Student Room Group

students life

how does it feel to study in foreign country as an international student?
Reply 1
depends a lot on where you're going to and where you come from. bigger cities tend to have more diverse students so you're more likely to find people similar to you there. for the most part i can imagine it's fun but a big change.
Hi, @moreofsupriyaya :smile:

I am an international student and I study Cyber Security at DMU, Leicester.
Although, it always seems as a really interesting and exciting experience (which it is absolutely!), you may face some things like language barrier and homesickness. When I first came to the UK, I was fascinated by the opportunities I could take and different events I could attend. However, I wasn't confident English speker at that moment and it really pushed me back. Also in a few months I started suffer from homesickness and my only dream was to go back home for a holiday.

Nevertheless, if you take this really important step in your life with enough caution and preparation, it is going to be probably best time in your life! You will meet hundreds of new people, see hundreds of new places and study in the country which is famous for its education for centuries! :smile:

To conclude, it is a wonderful experience. But there are always some things that you need to think of and prepare for :wink:

Good luck!
Let me know if you have any other questions,
- Iya
Original post by turgid
depends a lot on where you're going to and where you come from. bigger cities tend to have more diverse students so you're more likely to find people similar to you there. for the most part i can imagine it's fun but a big change.

Hello!