The Student Room Group

HELP! Year 12 failed as-level

I am a year 12 student who has recently finished his as-level exams. The subjects in question were Sociology, Maths, and Physics. I most likely got a low A/ high B in sociology, a low C/ High D in Maths, and a Low E/U in physics. It's my fault for not revising enough and generally coasting throughout the year. Now I ask what are my options, I REALLY do not want to repeat a year.
Reply 1
Original post by wertwertyui
I am a year 12 student who has recently finished his as-level exams. The subjects in question were Sociology, Maths, and Physics. I most likely got a low A/ high B in sociology, a low C/ High D in Maths, and a Low E/U in physics. It's my fault for not revising enough and generally coasting throughout the year. Now I ask what are my options, I REALLY do not want to repeat a year.

You might want to seriously consider retaking physics - my friends were in the same position and it didn't change their outcome (although, they put in some extra effort but by that time it was too late). Year 1 physics gives solid understanding for Year 2 topics. For maths, I'd say you can get to an A if you really put the work in to try and understand everything you learn. Its definitely possible.
Reply 2
I'm assuming that you might not be considering early entry, so if your school does exams or have some kind of measure before submitting final UCAS grades, you have time to raise it. Work over the summer holidays if possible on upping your grades and ask for a re-evaluation from some teachers and hopefully they'll be able to predict you higher once they see that you've improved.

Other options include switching to Core Maths, re-doing the year/ resitting, taking a gap year and ensuring that your actual A level grades are higher to apply for the next year or possibly a Foundation Year with universities that provide it for your course.