The Student Room Group

Not sure whether to go for Physician's Associate or Children's Nursing

I'm a graduate with a master's and have been working for a pharmaceutical company in a corporate role. However, I have been wanting to pursue a career in healthcare and finally decided to bite the bullet and just go for it.

I was planning on making some last minute applications for BSc Children's Nursing on UCAS as I'll receive a student loan and help with living costs. However, I've also started wondering about the Physician's Associate course which is only 2 years and will give me a higher salary once I qualify. The only issue is I would have to apply for September 2024 as the courses I would be interested in are all full now or have their applications closed for 2023. I have already had a postgraduate loan so would need to self-fund this which will be expensive, and I won't have any help with living costs (luckily I can live with parents).

I'm not sure what to go for. My ideal job would be working as a practice nurse or a Physician Associate in a GP surgery.

Does anyone have any advice or has had to make a similar decision and, if so, which did you go for and why?
Original post by blossomx
I'm a graduate with a master's and have been working for a pharmaceutical company in a corporate role. However, I have been wanting to pursue a career in healthcare and finally decided to bite the bullet and just go for it.