The Student Room Group

Scammed someone.

Hi. I’ve scammed someone and I feel really bad about it. I’m only 15, and they sent it to my bank and reported it, and now my account is locked. I’ve spoken to my bank and I’ve owned it and and I am happily able to refund the person. Question is, am I in threat of losing my bank account? I really never want to do it again. And I do not want my parents to know at all. Or else I am ruined. Anyone got any tips or advice? Thanks

UPDATE: Hello guys, I’ve just took it to the chin and told my parents, and I feel so so much easier now. I am lucky to have such supporting parents but very realistic and tells me what’s what. They started telling me off a lot for what I’ve done but then after comforted me saying they’re proud of me and I shouldn’t be doing this stuff as I’m a really good student in school. Moreover they’ve sent a confirmation letter home, saying they’re closing the bank account, and that I’m not allowed to apply for Lloyds again, nor Halifax or any bank of Scotland. As they are all linked somehow. This does mean that they’ve let me off very very easy, and this is a valuable lesson to all young people attempting to do what i did. Never am I ever scamming or stealing someone’s money ever again, God forbid. Thanks guys 🙏
(edited 8 months ago)

Scroll to see replies

Original post by yeyeskizzzz
Hi. I’ve scammed someone and I feel really bad about it. I’m only 15, and they sent it to my bank and reported it, and now my account is locked. I’ve spoken to my bank and I’ve owned it and and I am happily able to refund the person. Question is, am I in threat of losing my bank account? I really never want to do it again. And I do not want my parents to know at all. Or else I am ruined. Anyone got any tips or advice? Thanks