The Student Room Group
Winter time, University of Kent
University of Kent
Canterbury
Visit website

I'm a postgraduate student at the University of Kent - Ask me anything!

Hi!

Coming to Kent in September 2023 or looking to apply for next year?

I'm a current PhD Psychology student who also did my MSc in Organisational and Business Psychology here in 2022. You can ask me anything, for instance:
- About the university itself
- Applying for a Masters/PhD
- Scholarships
- Postgraduate life
- School of Psychology/Kent Business School specifically

I'm also from the area, so if you have any questions about Kent/Canterbury in general, I'm happy to help!

Natalie :smile:
- University of Kent Student Rep
Best and worst thing about your course? :holmes:
Winter time, University of Kent
University of Kent
Canterbury
Visit website
Original post by 04MR17
Best and worst thing about your course? :holmes:

Hi @04MR17

Thanks for your question :biggrin:

I'd say the best thing about PhD Psychology is the freedom to be able to research whatever you want to. I also love the independence and freedom to plan my own research and being able to work more collaboratively with lecturers than in undergraduate study. If I had to choose a bad thing, I would say it can be hard to plan your time and work to your own deadlines on a PhD course.

If you have any other questions let me know!

(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 3
Hi! I'm starting MSc Forensic Psychology in September and I was wondering what the jump in stats is like from undergraduate to masters level? My previous uni used SPSS and not R so I'm a little nervous about being behind!
Is there anything I could be doing aside from general reading and brushing up on stats between now and next month?
What did your week generally look like at Masters level? Trying to get a job on the side but not sure how the weeks are generally structured!
Thanks
Reply 4