The Student Room Group

rejected after interview

I had an interview at mcdonalds where they asked basic questions like my availability, previous experience and the hours i could work. I answered them all normally, I even lied and said I wasnt going to uni after I got my A level results. Next morning I got an email saying I was rejected, and I have no idea why. If I cant get a job at mcdonalds whats the point of applying anywhere else? Ive applied to around 30 jobs and mcdonalds was the only one I got an interview at which makes this even worse, I dont know what to do after this I have literally no money and no way of making any before uni
I'm in almost the same situation as you. I've applied to a bunch of jobs and keep getting rejected and although it may be because I'm not that experienced (what 18 year old is), I think it's because employers realise I'm not going to be sticking around after my results even if I haven't said that directly.
The job market seems really tough this year and literally none of my friends have managed to land a job over summer either. Although a lot of them can afford to not get a job and still survive uni, I'm not sure I can.
I wanted to just make my money in the holidays so I wouldn't have to work during uni since that's probably insanity. But since that hasn't happened I think I'll have to try and work a couple hours a week while at uni (assuming being in that city long term means they'll be more willing to give me a job).
Reply 2
Ask if they can give you some feedback, or at least reflect yourself on what went well and what could be improved about the interview. Maybe they sussed your post A level plan duplicity. In any events I reckon it’s a dreadful place to work and they did you a favour. Keep applying, there’s lots of jobs around
Reply 3