The Student Room Group

Career in Law with Average A Levels

Hello everyone!
My name is Georgi, and I study law at Lancaster University. I was wondering and at the same time, researching through TSR whether it is possible to have a career in big law or in a magic circle firm with an average A Levels. In my situation, we talk about BBB.
I graduated high school in Bulgaria, and I am having a hard time understanding the equivalent results of my bulgarian diploma that translate to the English A Levels. Some unis say it's BBC, others BBB.
Anyway, given that you graduate with a First Class or a strong Upper Second Class in law, is there a chance you'll be offered a Training Contract?
As for the mitigating circumstances, my grades dropped significantly during Covid, so will that be an excuse?
Reply 1
Hi Georgi, I’m sure that if TC providers can see that you’re on track for a First - for example if you were scoring high across all your modules before you had even finished your degree - and you did some vac schemes / extra curricular bits, there would be no problem in securing a TC at a good firm!
Reply 2
Original post by Pupil109
Hi Georgi, I’m sure that if TC providers can see that you’re on track for a First - for example if you were scoring high across all your modules before you had even finished your degree - and you did some vac schemes / extra curricular bits, there would be no problem in securing a TC at a good firm!

Thank you!
Appreciate it!
Original post by GeorgiGG
Hello everyone!
My name is Georgi, and I study law at Lancaster University. I was wondering and at the same time, researching through TSR whether it is possible to have a career in big law or in a magic circle firm with an average A Levels. In my situation, we talk about BBB.
I graduated high school in Bulgaria, and I am having a hard time understanding the equivalent results of my bulgarian diploma that translate to the English A Levels. Some unis say it's BBC, others BBB.