The Student Room Group

If I dropped to part time PhD, could I go back to full?

I'm a PhD student. My university messed up my finance multiple times, and even though it is completely their fault, they've said they won't help me fix it. I had a fee waiver, which they then messed up so I lost it, and then I went through SFE to get a student loan, and they messed up my payment plan.

Payment dates were 1st April 2023, 1st July 23, and 1st Oct 23. I paid April no problem, paid July, and they've told me at the start of September that they didn't get the July payment. I gave proof (payment confirmation and bank statement) but they've said it's insufficient evidence and they aren't willing to help me out any further (like they've helped me out to begin with LMAO). Unless I can pay the July payment AGAIN, plus the October payment, by 1st October, I'm suspended from my studies (technically I'm suspended now but it's not gone on the system and I don't plan to tell them that).

My next year of finance from SFE needs to be applied for by October. If I'm not enrolled, I can't get SFE for 2024, in which case I REALLY can't pay them and will have to drop out. My supervisor has said she wants to get me a fee waiver, but can't if I'm not enrolled.

So, my options are, basically:

- come up with a few thousand by 1st October to be fully reinstated which then lets me go through SFE for 2024. This is going to be impossible.

- dispute the payment issue with uni. I can go citizens advice or mum has a friend who is married to a lawyer and he's said if I need help, I know where to find him. However, I also work for the uni and need to be at the uni for the next few years, and this feels very scorched earth.