The Student Room Group

Gender equality struggles? misogyny? something like that

Hey guys,

I've been really struggling to adapt to a mixed gender environment at university and I'm not even sure if it's a me problem or a them problem anymore.

For context, I'm a girl who went to an all girl's secondary/sixth form and I'm now studying engineering at university which is so very male dominated.

I actually started off the year pretty well, making "friends" of both genders over nerdy common interests from pop culture to physics/maths. I never felt uncomfortable around the guys at the start even though I had been in a near 100% female environment for the past 7 years of my life.

However, as this first term has passed I find myself feeling more and more objectified by the men around me whether it's professors, acquaintances, or friends.

I've noticed the acquaintances only invite me to parties/go clubbing with them because they get to see me dressed up. This doesn't actually bother me too much because even in an all girls school I'd get comments on my body and I guess I got used to this. I don't know why but being looked at doesn't feel as threatening as other sexual harassment in the form of something verbal or physical, like touching.

"Friends" started to express their "romantic interest" (read: lust) in me and I would have to reject them multiple times, making it clear that i am only interested in a platonic friendship without benefits of any sort. Usually they would accept the rejection and carry on as being friends, then after a few weeks they would try the same thing again only to get rejected again. When they finally get fed up of the rejections, rather than leaving me because they know they won't get anywhere, they sexually harass me instead.

I've had a former teacher/friend from school try to sleep with me and comment on my body. I'll spare the details but I've also realised at uni that they were grooming me in school, which is a whole other issue.