The Student Room Group

Uni advice

Hey,
It's my first year at university and I’m studying politics and economics. I just got my midterm results back and I am incredibly disappointed. However, tt’s 20% of my grade and I know that I can do really well on my final exam as it's 80% of final grade . However, I cannot brush it off and it's really bothering me. Any advice for me?
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hey,
It's my first year at university and I’m studying politics and economics. I just got my midterm results back and I am incredibly disappointed. However, tt’s 20% of my grade and I know that I can do really well on my final exam as it's 80% of final grade . However, I cannot brush it off and it's really bothering me. Any advice for me?

Hi there!

Try not to be too hard on yourself! I'm sure that no matter your results, you worked hard. And from what I remember from first year, I was still figuring this whole university thing out at this point in the year, so try not to worry.

I think the best thing to do it to try and look at your results and feedback differently. Although you might be a bit disappointed, your results should help you see what worked well and not so well for you in this assignment, and then you can use this feedback to progress yourself in your next assignment. Like you say, you have your exam coming up, so try and use what you've learnt from your results to better your work for your exam.

I know the feeling of not being able to shake off the thought of your results, and it's okay to be conscious of your grades, even in first year. But try your best to stay positive and reflective, and use this to your advantage.