The Student Room Group

Help: Fitness to Practice Appeal!

I need your help! I had assumed that during laboratories you are always allowed to share your results - as I never had any problems with sharing results with my colleagues the whole time I have been at this uni. This was a computer lab because I had lost my file, I could not complete the work and so I had asked my friend for help and took a picture of the results. The teacher did NOT explicitly say that we were to work ONLY individually, it was NOT an assessment and everyone was discussing the work together.

I was then referred to a fitness to practice meeting, using the file/results I used from my colleague (teacher demanded it) and they put a warning on my record for plagiarism/academic fraud. I was shocked that it got to that level as me and my classmate were not informed that sharing results weren’t allowed - otherwise they would not have shared it with me.

I am a 3rd yr student and this is the first time I have heard of individual only labs.

How do I appeal this - because am I wrong in thinking this is totally unreasonable? This is really stressing me out and I emailed my student union.

Thanks in advance
Read the uni policy on academic dishonesty then decide if you want to appeal. There are strict guidelines on what is or is not acceptable. Seems you have unwittingly crossed a line. Take it as a rap across the knuckles and learn from it.
Original post by Girlyoof
I need your help! I had assumed that during laboratories you are always allowed to share your results - as I never had any problems with sharing results with my colleagues the whole time I have been at this uni. This was a computer lab because I had lost my file, I could not complete the work and so I had asked my friend for help and took a picture of the results. The teacher did NOT explicitly say that we were to work ONLY individually, it was NOT an assessment and everyone was discussing the work together.