The Student Room Group

German Grammar Help

Hello, I'm a Year 12 German student really struggling with my grammar, specifically cases and genders. Does anyone have any tips on not only memorisation but application, as I was encouraged not to learn cases at GCSE and am now being marked down for serious case errors for basic words I don't know the gender of. I'm in the process of creating a word bank for the basics but if anyone has any tips/resources that would be a great help as I'd love to do German at degree but am finding the A-level grammar disheartening.
Hey! I'm a GCSE student studying German currently, and these pieces of information helped me predict some of the genders of nouns. However, it doesn't work every time - just the majority!
I also struggled with pronouns of subjects, and I find it ridiculous why objects need different genders, but it helps with memory skills!
Here's some research I've done online:

If the word ends in -ung, it's almost certainly feminine (except der Sprung).
If the word ends in -chen or -lein, it is automatically neuter.
If the word ends in -e in the singular, it's likely feminine (but der Junge is a notable exception).

Feel free to look deeper online for more tips.
I hope this helps, and you'll have good luck predicting the correct genders of nouns.
Wünsche dir alles gute!
Reply 2
Hi! I’m a huge fan of linguistics and foreign languages and grammar and stuff like that. I’d love to help! (feel free to pm me anytime). this reply might be quite long so sorry in advance but my main suggestions for cases and gender would be: