The Student Room Group

Hygiene dental hygiene & therapy application

I wish to apply for Dental hygiene & therapy starting in 2025.

I’m worried about applying so I’m unsure if I will need GCSE science which I have at grade D

Relevant qualifications I have:

Maths grade C
English grade B
Food technology grade B
Dance grade B
Photography grade C
Business grade D
Science grade D
BTEC applied science - grade Merit

Level 3 Dental Nursing diploma
Access to higher education health professionals

I have 6 years experience working as a nurse in the dental industry.

Would you be able to tell me if I would be accepted with my current qualifications?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Hey!

I’m in a similar position to you. I’m hoping to apply for 2025 entry for dental therapy. I’ve been qualified as a dental nurse for only a year.
My school subjects are not relevant to dental therapy so I’ve enrolled onto an access to HE science course - I decided to choose science rather than health professionals as some unis state that it needs to be heavily biology and chemistry based which I don’t think the health profession one at my local college is.

I’ve also completed a level 2 infection control and currently doing a level 4 oral health education course.
To try and strengthen my application I’ve tried to apply for some volunteering opportunities.

I’ll be applying next year and probably apply straight away for the foundation course. So Fingers crossed!

Have a look at the entry requirements for the uni that you’re interested in, you could even email them? I emailed uni of Liverpool to ask if I would be considered with an access course and they said it would basically put me at the same level as everyone else, as long as I meet the requirements of grades and completion etc.