The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website

Questions about accomodation

I am a maths student with a firm offer (conditional, but will get the grades) to study at Leicester and I am looking to apply for accomodation. Basically, I couldn't care less about sharing facilities with other people or how big and luxurious my room is, I just want a bed and somewhere to put stuff. Plus, I could really use the extra money as I can't get any income-assessed support due to parents having money, but no guaranteed financial support from them either. However, I want to go into catered accomodation for various reasons (seems cheaper overall, less to worry about etc).

So I would want to apply for catered standard single, without an en-suite, right? Well also I want to be in the midst of it all, amongst lots of other first-year students. Being mildly autistic, I have found it difficult in the past to cope socially and make friends. This has improved in the past so I am quite happy to be around people, but I want to make it as easy as possible for me to make friends by living close to as many people as possible. Which hall is best for this?

I need to put a minimum of four choices down for my accomodation application, so I thought i'd put my first choice as:

1) Catered: Beaumont- Standard Single

On the assumption that Beaumont is the most sociable hall. There aren't any standard single rooms according to the booklet, but the online form seems to be letting me choose that anyway, so should i do that or pick premium single?