The Student Room Group

Why will no one hire me?!

I'm honestly at my wits' end. This summer I have applied for over 40 part-time jobs to get me through my final year of university, but I have not been accepted by any one so far. I have had one interview at WH Smith, which went well, but I didn't get the job. Most of the time I get no reply, but sometimes they send me a rejection e-mail.

I have edited my CV numerous times to make it the best it can be. I have little experience in payed employment, apart from one job when I served refreshments in a theatre. But I have over three years volunteering at various establishments and have undergone work placements as part of my degree. I have included my work experiences on my CV along with the skills I have learnt from them, which are transferrable. I honeslty don't know where I'm going wrong. I've asked people to check my CV, all of which have said it is good. :confused:

Does anyone have any advice? All I can think of is to keep applying, but I just feel like I'm getting nowhere. I usually apply for three or more jobs every day. I feel like such a failure. :frown:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Omg I'm in the exact same situation! I've been trying to get a job in my area for over a year now and its just not happening! I'm not doing anything wrong either! I don't have a solution but I understand how frustrating this is!
Maybe they don't think they'll get their moneys worth if your only there for a year? :frown: I always lie at Interviews and claim i'll be there for ever and ever.
Reply 3
It's comforting to hear that someone is in the same situation. It annoys me that my housemate got a job as a kitchen porter at Wetherspoons with no interview. His friend worked there so he automatically got hired? And there's people like us who try our hardest and get no where. :mad: