The Student Room Group

Increasing chances of doing Computer Science at Oxbridge

Hi, I'm year 12 at the moment and want to study computer science at Cambridge however my GCSE grades aren't outstanding. But I'm creating my own app and website and the head and founder of computing society at school yet still I feel that it wont be enough for UCAS. Can anyone give me a hand :/
What AS Levels are you doing?
What are your GCSE grades and AS subjects?
(as well as the grades/subject q's above) What kind of programming skills do you currently have?
Cambridge focus more on your UMS % than your GCSE grades (that's Oxford). Focus on getting 95%+ UMS on your AS's.
Original post by jenkinsear
(as well as the grades/subject q's above) What kind of programming skills do you currently have?

I got 3 A*s 5 A's and 2 B's in my GCSE's and I am currently studying Maths, Further Maths, Computing, Physics and History at AS. I am very confident in Pascal and Python however my Java skills are mediocre and I am yet to start Ruby and Objective-C
Reply 6
Original post by faisal148991
I got 3 A*s 5 A's and 2 B's in my GCSE's and I am currently studying Maths, Further Maths, Computing, Physics and History at AS. I am very confident in Pascal and Python however my Java skills are mediocre and I am yet to start Ruby and Objective-C

Don't spread yourself too thin, I know the most commonly used language in the Cambridge comp sci course is Java so it would be worth improving your skills there. I really wouldn't worry about your GCSE grades and would worry more about your A-Levels than programming languages. As fun as it can be it will not make up for your AS's should you not spend enough time revising and fall short.
Reply 7