The Student Room Group

Feeling disconnected in terms of career options and professional society.

In the sense that I do not really feel any desire for what the idea of a career offers me. I just want money, however at the same time I feel pressured to go into a graduate scheme even though I have hated every experience I have had of office life. It is like death by endless repetition.

I graduated in June 2013 with a 2.1 in law from a RG. I have had one temp graduate job for a month since then with many final interviews. Something is just not clicking for me. I am more than qualified for these jobs in terms of experience they ask for... but I am just getting nowhere past final interviews. I just don't feel like I am connecting to what they offer at all. My ultimate goal has always been to start my own business, and the career being a means to that end.

I guess this great realisation has become even more apparent when I got rejected by EY the other day after the final interview. I more than met their requirements and hit the competencies, but they just did not like me. I felt like I was talking to a robot in my interview, an autistic type of guy. The other guy was very normal though, I just cannot connect to that society at all. There was no rapport, I was just answering using developed technical answers but the guy looked like he did not want to be there.

In general, I feel no connection to people. I also feel no real envy of anyone apart from those with so much money that they don't need to work. Those with good careers of course they earn well, but I just feel so bored when I hear about the work they do.
All I care about is money, the one thing that I lack in my life. I could not give a damn about the rest. But at the same time I feel so powerless at the moment, having to pretend to be someone else just to get £25k or so a year at a corporate gig that I feel no passion for whatsoever.