The Student Room Group

Newcastle or Coventry for second year Nutrition?

I'm currently a student at the University of Westminster and have just completed my first year. They have been done me well, but having stayed there for a year I felt like I could get onto a better programme at a university that is more organised and where my future prospects could be better.

Anyway having contacted a few universities, Coventry have said that I can join them in the second year of Food and Nutrition, and Newcastle have (surprisingly) said the same.

I'm sure most on here will say it's a bit of a no-brainer, but I disagree. Newcastle is the Russell Group uni, but according to The Complete University Guide (2016 table), Coventry are superior in the food sciences this year. It is also constantly improving according to pretty much every source, and students seem to be far, far happier with their nutrition course compared to at Newcastle (Unistats + The Complete University Guide). It also has a strong coursework emphasis, which is where my strength lies compared to exams (although I do ok with those too)

On the flipside, Newcastle is the better regarded uni overall, and even with food sciences, it is usually above Coventry in the rankings. I'm also assuming it has more caché with future employers, although as I plan to go postgrad I'm equally concerned about how other universities see the institution. I'm assuming Newcastle just had a poor year, and that it's not the start of a slump that would only end when I leave!

Other things for me to consider are living costs (I am all kinds of broke, so I will need to work as well as study), Also, I am 30, so I hope that there is a decent mature student population wherever I am.

Anyway, advice please?
Help, please? :smile:
Original post by Drunken_Panda
Help, please? :smile: