The Student Room Group

Maths or...

Hi, just wondering, what do you think about applying to these courses?

1. Mathematics - Oxford
2. Mathematics - Imperial
3. Maths & Economics - LSE
4. Maths & Economics/ Maths - UCL
5. Maths - KCL

Do you think applying for maths and econs would jeopardize my chances of being accepted into the courses solely focused on maths? Or is it a good way to kinda spread the risks? Also, would the personal statement differ a lot compared to the pure math one? Thank you for your advice!!!
Hey Im an student at LSE. Personally from thats a fine set of choices (although it must be said only choose if ur confident in grades :smile: ) Straight math courses don't care if u also go for math and econ as at university they are very similar subjects so it will not hurt ur application. In terms of spread risk be aware math and econ at lse / UCL are very competitive courses so would not be 'spreading risk', I have friends who got into UCL for straight math but were rejects by LSE math and Econ so a with or and econ is not an easy choice. Moreover only choose the and econ bit if u really enjoy econ as at a UCL or LSE econ modules are often very hard and you will only do well if you really enjoy them (the step up from a-level is huge).

Then for the PS i would suggest writing it with a math focus but add in a small section or reference to the economic applications of maths. For example i would discuss game theory or econometrics or even dynamic optimisation (a very Macro topic).

Hope this helps :smile:
Hi there, I largely agree with EconNinja