The Student Room Group

How do your UCAS Predicted grades, actually, REALLY work?

Hi, all. I'd like to start by saying I'm very new to using TSR and I'm sorry if I've made any glaring errors.

I'm one exam away from finishing my AS year of college and only a few months away from applying to university and I'm becoming increasingly frustrated with the lack of clear, concrete knowledge about the application process to uni via UCAS and how it all really works. I would really appreciate the help of anyone who has the answers to these questions as it would greatly help me understand exactly where I stand.

First off: I'm aware that you submit your UCAS Predicted grades when applying and I understand that they're based off your performance throughout the year and your AS exams if you are indeed taking AS. But, I hear a lot of rumors and and myths. Such as 'Your UCAS A2 predicated grades will usually be one above the grade you got at AS'. Does this have any merit? Can anyone speak for the validity of this claim?

Secondly, I, like a lot of people, I'm guessing, are worried that they've underperformed or done not as well as they'd hoped in their AS exams. The absolute biggest claim I hear being thrown about is that "Even though universities say they want certain entry requirements, they will usually accept something lower than this: For example, allowing someone onto their AAB course with an ABB or an AAC." How well does this hold up?