The Student Room Group

Grade Requirements vs Actual Grades (my grades were far below what I need)

What is the maximum deviation that the university has offered you a place? The course I want to apply to is asking for a BCC or ABB (depending on the uni but there's only 2), but I got a CCD at A-Level, and I'm hoping that there'll be someway that I can go through this without having to take a foundation course/access course or give up on my dreams all together.

Background info:
I'm 21 (soon 22) and on a gap year right now to gather some funds up for university (due to living with my mother, siblings and her boyfriend who earns a shed load, [they've been together since I was 5?? IDK a long time] but refuses to aid me financially despite his income affecting my grant), but, I've wanted to study Korean, (I've been teaching myself for 7 years, but due to school, full time work and college I've had to restart from scratch several times) as well as English, in hopes of becoming an English teacher, and learning another language in which I can possibly pursue a career in teaching both.
Wanting to study Korean and English limits me to two universities, UCLAN and SOAS. And as I really don't want to study in Central London, despite it being so much closer and thus cheaper to get to from home, but I'll take it. Honestly because I'm limited here.
My issue is that UCLAN offer a place on their Korean and English (lit or lang I love them both equally) at a BCC or 104 UCAS points, whilst SOAS offer the course at an ABB.
Due to mental health issues, changing jobs which proceeded in me working 40 hours a week alongside full time college, and a mix of technical (my laptop crashed and had to be restored to a backup a year later, meaning I lost all my coursework 1.5 months before the turn in date) and family issues, I spent a lot of time off sick from college.