The Student Room Group

Can I not get help with my living costs?

I'm an EU student. From what I've gathered, I can apply for student loans and get a full grant, but I can't get help with my living costs. Is this true?

Acommodation costs SO MUCH and I come from a single-parent household, there's no way we'll be able to afford that. Is there really nothing I can do? I'm heartbroken.
Original post by cityofstars21
I'm an EU student. From what I've gathered, I can apply for student loans and get a full grant, but I can't get help with my living costs. Is this true?

Acommodation costs SO MUCH and I come from a single-parent household, there's no way we'll be able to afford that. Is there really nothing I can do? I'm heartbroken.

Hi there,

are you applying for an undergraduate or postgraduate course? Is your course full time or part time?

Thanks,
Claire
Original post by Claire SFE
Hi there,

are you applying for an undergraduate or postgraduate course? Is your course full time or part time?

Thanks,
Claire

Undergraduate, full time.
bump
Undergraduate, full time.

Hi there,

If you're applying for an undergraduate course for EU funding, you would only be eligible for the Tuition Fee Loan. Are you working in the UK and will you conitnue to work during your studies?

Thanks,
Claire
Original post by Claire SFE
Hi there,

If you're applying for an undergraduate course for EU funding, you would only be eligible for the Tuition Fee Loan. Are you working in the UK and will you conitnue to work during your studies?

Thanks,
Claire

No. I've yet to finish my studies in my home country.
No. I've yet to finish my studies in my home country.

Hi there,