The Student Room Group

Costs of living in the UK for 2 person

Hey there, I am an international student coming to the UK to further my studies this coming September. My plan is to attend the same university in the UK together with a close friend of mine, and we have both gotten our offers, and boiled down our options to just 2 in mind.

Both of us are privately sponsored, but my friend would only be paid for her tuition fees excluding living costs. On the other hand, I would be fully sponsored (more than enough for a student living in the UK, let's just say around 20,000 GBP a year).

I have thought about it thoroughly and I don't mind covering her living costs as long as we get to study together. What would you say? Would it be possible? What if we live in the same space, would it be cheaper? Could you give an example in terms of spending so that I could look at it in a bigger picture? What about part-time jobs?
Original post by AverageStuden
Hey there, I am an international student coming to the UK to further my studies this coming September. My plan is to attend the same university in the UK together with a close friend of mine, and we have both gotten our offers, and boiled down our options to just 2 in mind.

Both of us are privately sponsored, but my friend would only be paid for her tuition fees excluding living costs. On the other hand, I would be fully sponsored (more than enough for a student living in the UK, let's just say around 20,000 GBP a year).

I have thought about it thoroughly and I don't mind covering her living costs as long as we get to study together. What would you say? Would it be possible? What if we live in the same space, would it be cheaper? Could you give an example in terms of spending so that I could look at it in a bigger picture? What about part-time jobs?
Hi @AverageStuden

Congratulations on being accepted for a full sponsorship!