The Student Room Group

32 and starting from scratch.. ferraris to fiats

Time flies, used to check out these forums when I was a student and only hit me as I'm typing this it was over a decade ago!
Studied a health and environment related degree at University, mind wasn't much in it and came out with a 3rd, around the same time I started a business which rocketed and allowed me to travel, buy a home/ my dream cars, financial freedom and all in my 20's. Long story cut short 2 or 3 bad investments and it all came crashing down and now in my early 30's I've just got back on track recovered from the debt I incurred as a result of all this. Had a huge effect on my self esteem for many years and I've been in between mediocre non skilled jobs complacent I won't have to exercise my brain or make any mistakes.

So here we are without a clue of what I can do, only just realising this is a crucial juncture for me. I have a 3rd bsc degree I don't suppose much use (not that I remember much after all these years)! Question is, what would you do in this situation? I'm hoping for some kind of 1 year course that can land me mid range in surveying, oil/ gas, rail? Any recommendations or journey sharing would be greatly appreciated.
Congratulations for getting back on your feet, it's not easy and I've met more than one person who's been through a similar situation.

If you're interested in surveying have you thought about taking a conversion course? It sounds like land surveying is what you're interested in. Make sure it's accredited by the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors (https://www.rics.org/uk/) thou! RICS accredited courses can be found here: http://www.ricscourses.org/Course/#.
Original post by Tee
Time flies, used to check out these forums when I was a student and only hit me as I'm typing this it was over a decade ago!