The Student Room Group

Why don't I have any friends in Uni?

I'm starting to believe it's todo with the people I come across rather than myself. I have the social skills and capacity to communicate and interact with people but I don't feel or think others have the same attitudes TOWARDS me.. which is making it very challenging. If people don't connect with me then friendships/relationships will struggle to be formed. I've been putting in the effort since I came to uni, and going out of my way to ensure I meet as many people as people. When I talk to people, I want to get to know them personally and such so we can somewhat form connections and build a friendship with each other but I just feel like it's not genuine back (poor reactions and body language received)... which is unfortunate
I'm in second year of university and I feel as getting to know my classmates on a deeper level is impossible, we don't have similar interests and no one will spontaneously come ups to talk to me, I'm forcing my way in discussions and conversations with them which is upsetting. We are breaking up for Christmas this week and when we return next year I just feel like it will be the same with no improvements. I'm already in second year so friendship groups have surely been formed, and the chances of me making or finding new friends looks very slim. I've tried the societies many many times and gained nothing from it, even when I initiate contact, exchanged contact details then I would be the one to ask to meet up. Nothing gets implemented. That's when communication cuts and I forget they even existed. This happened to 3 people.
No one makes the effort with me.
I'm a friendly and sociable person and don't see why I'm having this difficultly in making friends at uni.
I'm not enjoying my time here and dread every moment in this institution and I'm only working towards finishing and completing this degree so I can graduate now be done with it.