The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

can I apply to universal credit at uni

if im a full time student at uni can I still apply for universal credit
No. Although I think it depends. I was on it and got onto a course so phoned them up to sign off and they said that because I didn't have children or I'm not caring for someone then I wouldn't be able to claim anymore.
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
If you're classed as LCWWRA (sickness benefit element of UC) then you can study an OU degree, as it is considered part-time, however loans or grants you receive may reduce your benefits if you're also earning close to or above the work allowance income, so double check about this. If you're on UC which is a version of job seeker's allowance, I don't think you can claim and study part time, but this is a new benefit so it is worth checking. Try the Citizen's Advice Bureau.
Reply 3
Full Time: No ordinarily (there are exceptions)

Part-Time: Yes (with caveats) but should be actively seeking work and able to fulfil 37.5 hrs of work if you find a suitable job.

You will be required to report any income from loans/grants etc (maintenance/bursaries... NOT the tuition fee loan) and this might affect the amount of benefit you receive.
In Germany if your a student your not the States problem. I'm shocked in the UK this is possible at all.
Reply 5
Original post by Realitysreflexx
In Germany if your a student your not the States problem. I'm shocked in the UK this is possible at all.

That doesn't seem reasonable tbh
Original post by Anonymous
That doesn't seem reasonable tbh