The Student Room Group

Would you do a part-time jobs for free?

Hi, i am final year student. I found a part-time 6 month design jobs. Would you want to go ahead if you don't get pay at all - just for experience purposes?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
If you think you're worth nothing, sure.
No.
Reply 3
but i have no experience , didn't do a placement and most entry roles/junior require 1-2 commercial experiences.

Original post by Xarao
If you think you're worth nothing, sure.

yes atm i have no experiences, i need this to put it on my CV.
I'd consider it if it doesn't take up too much time and it can help go towards a job you want in the future.Rollin.jpg
Original post by Anonymous
Hi, i am final year student. I found a part-time 6 month design jobs. Would you want to go ahead if you don't get pay at all - just for experience purposes?

Hi!!

That is basically volunteering, isn't it?

It depends on you if you can work around your university tasks. I feel like 6 months of unpaid work may make you feel unmotivated.

It depends if you can manage it!

Good luck!

Marlena - Official Student Rep :smile:
Maybe.
Depending upon the: company reputation, training, practical experience and potential for helpful future contacts/references/networking opportunities.
Sounds like an unpaid internship with no expenses offered, I've done a few and have no regrets.
Quite a few people spend thousands of pounds buying a 30-90 day internship in fashion, law, publishing or finance.

Do I look like charity?
Yah man why not? As long as I get to light my joint with some reggae beats during me break all is bless jah
Nah I would only do it if it's charity to help the needy. Other than that I want to be paid.

This is not a job if you are not getting paid. This would be you getting exploited for free labour, under the guise of "it'll be great experience".