The Student Room Group

Looking for a job.

Hi, I'm in my first year of Uni and have been looking for a part-time job. I don't have any work experience but I have GCSE and A Level Qualifications? Does anyone have any tips on how I could get a job? Thank you.
Reply 1
Have you tried fast food places, they always have places and their shifts could be suitable for students
Original post by Prittinya
Hi, I'm in my first year of Uni and have been looking for a part-time job. I don't have any work experience but I have GCSE and A Level Qualifications? Does anyone have any tips on how I could get a job? Thank you.

Hey have you tried tutoring? The hrs fit around you to

Hey there 😀

After several years of study and several different jobs, my first and best suggestion is to apply for a student ambassador. There is no more interesting, developing and flexible work for a student than this.

Unless your university employs ambassadors, I recommend walking around the city and handling your CV to bars, restaurants, fast-foods, shops and other service places. You can also look for a job in warehouses.

Your university should offer career support. It may be worthwhile to go there and seek professional advice on what you can do or where to look. Their help can be particularly valuable in finding a role that will not only be a source of money but also practical experience that will complement your education.

I hope it was helpful 💪 Feel free to reach out if you have any questions 😉 You can also chat with me or other students directly through The Ambassador Platform.

Take care,

Julia
Psychology student
De Montfort University

Look on indeed.com. There are quite a few jobs on there. Also look on companies own websites. Some companies (e.g. mcdonalds, tesco etc) have their jobs on the careers section of their websites. Some places (especially smaller places/restaurants/cafes etc) have jobs in their windows. It will say on the advert how to apply.