The Student Room Group

I have lost passion for my course, what do I do?

I started studying Spanish & Japanese at Cardiff Uni in September 2020. I am not deferring due to poor mental health & hospital visits. Since I returned home for Christmas, I have lost all passion for the languages course, which is upsetting because it was my dream course for so long. I have been considering studying Psychology instead (so any insight would be helpful). Has anyone else ended up disliking their course, but were able to enjoy it later and return to it at a later date? I am really lost :0
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by IsabelleB02
I started studying Spanish & Japanese at Cardiff Uni in September 2020. I am not deferring due to poor mental health & hospital visits. Since I returned home for Christmas, I have lost all passion for the languages course, which is upsetting because it was my dream course for so long. I have been considering studying Psychology instead (so any insight would be helpful). Has anyone else ended up disliking their course, but were able to enjoy it later and return to it at a later date? I am really lost :0

Hey @IsabelleB02 ! So sorry to hear you're feeling this way :frown: Is it maybe the change in your working space that's affecting you? What it is that has put you off the course do you think?

Please don't be too hard on yourself at the moment. Obviously the world is a really strange place right now, and it's normal to feel de-motivated. You won't have the same 'normal' student experience where you can be on campus and integrate with others, and practice your language skills in real time like most new language students get to do. If you're in your first year right now then you still have a few years ahead of you to hopefully have a more interactive and involved course life. I was a languages student and I really do take my hat off to you all trying to learn remotely- it's such an interactive degree normally!