The Student Room Group
University of York
York

What is life like in the University of York?

Hi there, just wondering what I can expect from the University of York. I've have had a look around and it is beautiful. However, I'm basically wondering what it's like for the students:
How are the social clubs?
What is the night life like e.g. pubs or parties etc?
How is the accommodation generally (I know it does depend on the bracket)?
What is the student support like?
:bump: I'd like to know this too.
University of York
York
Would like to know this too ! !
Original post by CawlsTechSupport
Hi there, just wondering what I can expect from the University of York. I've have had a look around and it is beautiful. However, I'm basically wondering what it's like for the students:
How are the social clubs?
What is the night life like e.g. pubs or parties etc?
How is the accommodation generally (I know it does depend on the bracket)?
What is the student support like?

Hi there,

I’m a York grad and I’ve lived here for around five years now. I agree that it’s a beautiful place to live, and can reassure you that it’s a fantastic student city!

Social Clubs
There are hundreds of societies at York! Joining a society is a great way to meet new people and carry on a hobby/sport or learn something new! I was so happy that I could continue to play in musical groups and bands, and I also tried new things like rowing, baking and dancing. You can do taster sessions and try lots of different things before committing to anything. You can also choose how involved you want to be - if you want to be involved casually in a club/sport or if you want to be more involved and join the committee and run the club! When you’re at uni, you have an amazing opportunity to try loads of new things and get involved at a fraction of the price it would cost outside uni. Now that I've graduated, I have loads of great memories but I wish I had tried more things!

Night Life