The Student Room Group

Horse on part-loan

This may be the wrong place to put this (if so, I'm sorry).

I have been riding for about five years and I really enjoy it. I started out really well and but for some reason, about two years ago, I lost my confidence and became a very nervous rider. But I kept at it, and now I am loving every minute of riding and my confidence has soared. I've never owned my own horse, I have lessons every week and other random rides out on hacks ect.

I have the time for a part loan horse, and I'm really enthusiastic about the opportunity. The problem is, I have no idea how to go about finding one, or the things I have to go through and look out for before getting one.

Could anyone help me out?
Reply 1
Have a look at, and put an advert up in local tack and feed shops. Be honest about your ability and what you're looking for.

Online, google 'horses for loan' and check out the websites that have loan sections. New Rider tends to get a lot of adverts.

You're certainly looking at the right time of year, as it's winter and a lot of people prefer to have help with their horses in the colder months.
Okay - horses for sale/loan/sharing etc can be found advertised in equestrian magazines, livery yards, online and tack shops. Sometimes also local newspapers.

What you need to look out for?

1) Is it healthy? Take someone knowledgeable with you when you visit, and make sure you get the vet out if there are ANY concerns. You also need to know how much responsibility you have for paying vets bills/farriery bills, etc.

2) Is it safe? Make sure you ride it. Take it on the road, in traffic, alone, in company, etc. Will it do something mental when faced with a cyclist?

3) Is it suitable for you? Is it young enough? Is it versatile enough? Can you use it for lessons? Is it fit?

4) Any special diet/ferriery? Kept out or in? Where will you keep it? Does it need to be kept at the owners yard? Can other people ride it with your permission?