The Student Room Group

Which 3rd A-Level should I pick?

I'm an external student and doing Maths and Further Maths. I am not going to do any A-Levels with practicals or coursework in them.

Here are my options for a third a level.

Business Studies

Economics

Government & Politics

Philosophy

Psychology

I am asking you to rate the 5 A-Levels above and help me decide which one I should do as my 3rd a level alongside the 2x Maths.

How 'respected' they are

How 'easy' they are

Your overall opinion which 1-2 I should consider most

[40 marks] :tongue:

Btw I am going to work in the IT field, as cybersecurity or cloud comptuing or that sort of stuff.

Will it hurt me if I just choose the one I want to do even if its 100% unrelated to my future career? Will employers care that my 3rd a level is unrelated?
Original post by nrevenco
I'm an external student and doing Maths and Further Maths. I am not going to do any A-Levels with practicals or coursework in them.

Here are my options for a third a level.

Business Studies

Economics

Government & Politics

Philosophy

Psychology

I am asking you to rate the 5 A-Levels above and help me decide which one I should do as my 3rd a level alongside the 2x Maths.

How 'respected' they are

How 'easy' they are

Your overall opinion which 1-2 I should consider most

[40 marks] :tongue:

Btw I am going to work in the IT field, as cybersecurity or cloud comptuing or that sort of stuff.

Will it hurt me if I just choose the one I want to do even if its 100% unrelated to my future career? Will employers care that my 3rd a level is unrelated?

I don't think choosing an unrelated subject will be a problem. I did product design, maths and business for A-Levels, and the subjects (apart from product design) merely relates to the course I applied for (industrial design)