The Student Room Group

Third class degree

Hello, I was hoping someone could help me here.
I studied an Undergraduate degree and I got third class degree. This is because I lost my Mum in second year, I had to undergo counselling due to stress and my friends said not to take a gap year because studies may take my mind off things. However, I did what I could and now I am stuck.

I applied for Masters degree, hoping to boost my grades, the university I applied at offered me a place and I confirmed my interest on the place, the sent me welcome back confirmation and I was just waiting upon enrolment now. However, I just happen to call the department that I am still waiting on enrolment, they said we are sorry we cannot go ahead with your application due to third class degree.

They first accepted me and asked me to provide a strong academic reference with my degree and I did. Now they backed off. What do I do? Honestly, I am stressing, I need to get into the masters to improve my grades?

Any thoughts?.......
I would have a look through this website to see which masters programs outright accept or will still consider third class degree holders:
https://www.findamasters.com/masters-degrees/?Keywords=third+class+honours
I am not too sure about a master's degree compensating for poor performance in a bachelor's degree. I don't think that's the right reason to do one, but I don't want to be one of those ***** who talks down what people want to do, it may work out for you, I don't know.
Reply 2
Original post by Master0fReality
I would have a look through this website to see which masters programs outright accept or will still consider third class degree holders:
https://www.findamasters.com/masters-degrees/?Keywords=third+class+honours