The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Travel while studying with Open University

I am due to start into my second year of studies at the Open University in September, can I undergo my studies while on a 'working holiday visa' in Australia?
that's interesting what do u study? but i think it should be ok tbh
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Reply 2
Original post by joannaf121
I am due to start into my second year of studies at the Open University in September, can I undergo my studies while on a 'working holiday visa' in Australia?

Sure! I did a lot of my degree while living in China for months at a time. I never said anything to them about it and just carried on as normal. I did attend some online tutorials at about 3am though haha!

There are two things to consider - (1) Will the OU be happy with this; and (2) Will doing this be compliant with the terms of your visa.

Your study might be a breach of the conditions of your visa: see https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/already-have-a-visa/check-visa-details-and-conditions/see-your-visa-conditions?product=417-A# (specifically "8548 - Maximum 4 months study"). Now that section does say "You can do work-based training and correspondence courses that you could take outside Australia. These don’t count towards the 4 months study or training." and you could probably claim that an OU course counts as "correspondance courses".
Original post by martin7
There are two things to consider - (1) Will the OU be happy with this; and (2) Will doing this be compliant with the terms of your visa.